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50 State Picture



50 State Taxable Wage Base Chart (Condensed)
Rank States Taxable Wage Base

50 - 46 CA, AZ, TN, FL, AR $7,000

45 - 36 LA, VA, AL, MD, OH, TX, NE, MI, GA, IN $7,700 - < $10,000

35 - 22 PA, KY, MO, NY, ME, WV, IL, CO, NH, VT, KS, SC, 
MS, WI

$10,000 - < $15,000

21 - 19 Massachusetts, CT, SD $15,000

18 Delaware $16,500

17 - 10 OK, RI, NC, NM, WY, IA, NV, MN $24,000 - $35,000

9 - 6 MT, NJ, ND, UT $35,300 - $38,900

5 - 2 ID, AK, OR, HI 43,000 - $47,400

1 Washington State $56,500



Limits on taxable wages imposed by MA TWB

• Only 14.4% of Massachusetts' total wages (of taxable employers) 
are included in the taxable wage base
• 25th highest of the 50 states, but far below North Carolina 

(28.7%), New Jersey (30.3%), and Washington (41.4%)

• The current taxable wage base is only 19.4% of the 
Massachusetts annualized average weekly wage
• Lower than about 30 other states

• States that have indexed taxable wage bases have much higher 
percentages on average



State Taxable Wage Base Indexing

• There are 18 states that utilize some form of indexing

• 17 of the 18 states with indexed taxable wage bases have a 
TWB greater than Massachusetts'
• The only exception is Vermont, where the taxable wage base for 2021 

is $14,100 due to a trigger in the law that reduces the base by $2,000 based 
on trust fund conditions

Average Solvency Ratings (Using AHCM)

Beginning of 2020 Beginning of 2021

States without indexed 
Taxable Wage Base (32) .927 .407
States with indexed Taxable 
Wage Base (18) 1.51 .749



State UI TWB Index Target

Alaska $43,600 75% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage (SAAWW)

Hawaii $47,400 100% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

Iowa $32,400 2/3rds of the State Average Weekly Wage multiplied by 52

Idaho $43,400 100% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

Minnesota $35,000 60% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

Montana $35,300 80% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

North Carolina $26,000 50% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

North Dakota $38,500 70% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

New Jersey $36,200 28 times the State Average Weekly Wage

New Mexico $27,000 60% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

Nevada $33,400 66 2/3% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

Oklahoma* $24,000 5 different rates, ranging from 40% of SAAWW to 50% SAAWW

Oregon $43,800 80% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

Rhode Island* $24,600 46.5% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage

Utah $38,900 75% of the insured average wage for the prior fiscal year

Vermont* $14,100 TWB increases at the same percentage of the State Average Weekly Wage

Washington $56,500 115% of the prior year's taxable wage base, limited to not exceed 80% of the SAAWW

Wyoming $27,300 55% of State Average Annualized Weekly Wage



Unique Taxable Wage Base Features
• Variable Rates:

• Oklahoma's taxable wage base is tied to the rate schedule triggered by trust fund 
condition. There are 5 potential TWBs ranging from 40% to 50% of SAAWW. The TWB % 
increases to meet increased trust fund need

• Delaware, Tennessee, and Arkansas also utilize flat variable rates with statutorily 
set minimums and maximums

• Automatic Triggers
• Vermont triggers a $2,000 decrease in its TWB when the rate schedule falls to the 3rd 

rate schedule, then an additional $2,000 decrease when it falls to the 1st rate schedule
• Missouri triggers an increase of up to $1,000 or a decrease of up to $500 depending on 

trust fund average balance – Limited to a max of $13,000 and min of $7,000
• Michigan decreases/increases TWB by $500 depending on whether the trust fund has at 

least $2.5 billion for 2 consecutive quarters

• Variation in Rate based on Experience
• Rhode Island employers taxed at the highest rate for UI have a $1,500 higher taxable 

wage base ($26,100 in 2021, compared to state's TWB of $24,600)



Indexed Taxable Wage Bases Compared to MA

• States utilizing some form of 
indexing mostly have small, 
manageable increases in wage 
base each year
• Washington State's 

dramatic increase between 
2019-2021 tracked with a 
dramatic increase in the 
average weekly wage

• Massachusetts' taxable wage base 
has increased once since 2010



Recent Trends in Policy Change

• Colorado – Taxable wage base increases by $3,400 per year 
from 2022-2026, going from $13,600 to $30,600. After 2026, the TWB 
will be increased based on the percentage increase of the state 
annual average weekly wage

• Connecticut – Taxable wage base increases from $15,000 to 
$25,000 in 2024, then becomes indexed to the percentage change in 
the US DOL's employment cost index for wages and salaries of all 
civilian workers

• New York (Result of 2013 bill) – Taxable wage base increases in 
annual steps from $11,800 in 2021 to $13,000 by 2026. After 2026, 
the TWB will increase by 16% of the state average annual wage



History of Massachusetts Taxable 
Wage Base



MA Taxable Wage Base History

• Has only been changed 3 times in 30 years

• Until 1992 - $7,000 (set by Congress in 1983, MA linked in 1977)

• 1992 - $10,800 

• 1994 - was scheduled to increase to $13,000, but repealed

• 2004 - $14,000

• 2014 - $15,000



MA Taxable Wage Base History

• Reasons for changes – Trust fund insolvency

• 1992 - Trust fund bottomed out at -$403M

• 2004 - Trust fund bottomed out at -$37M (2003) 

• 2014 - Trust fund bottomed out at -$89M (2010)

• 2021 - Trust fund estimated to bottom at -$4.066B (estimated in Feb)



MA Taxable Wage Base History

• Indexing?

• Example 1 – CPI adjustment calculated

• 1992 - $10,800      → 2021 - $20,692

• 2004 - $14,000 → 2021 - $19,898

• 2014 - $15,000      → 2021 - $16,948

• Compare to 1935 TWB → $3,000, adjusted for CPI is $59,064.35



MA Taxable Wage Base History

• Indexing?

• Example 2 – Adjusted on change in average weekly wage (calculated 
annually)

• 1992 - $10,800      → 2021 - $29,574.86 AWW (1992) - $543

• 2004 - $14,000 → 2021 - $22,670.19 AWW (2004) - $918

• 2014 - $15,000      → 2021 - $18,367.81 AWW (2014) - $1215

• AWW (2021) - $1487



MA Taxable Wage Base History

• Indexing?

• Example 3 – Adjusted on average weekly wage (set at 35% of AAWW)

• 1992 - $10,800      → 1992 - $10,300 AAWW (1992) - $28,251

• 2004 - $14,000 → 2004 - $16,721 AAWW (2004) - $47,776

• 2014 - $15,000      → 2014 - $22,113 AAWW (2014) - $63,179

• 2021 - $15,000      → 2021 - $27,077 AAWW (2021) - $77,634



Industry Comparison
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Questions for Discussion

• Indexing – What measure should be used for indexing the TWB? 
• CPI?
• AWW increases?
• Index as a percent of AWW?

• How should an initial adjustment for the TWB be set?
• Moderate annual increases?
• Based upon what measure?

• What tools could we incorporate that could be useful unique features 
from other states?

• What questions should we explore about industry specific impacts of 
TWB changes?


