HOUSE No. 1473

The Commonwealth of Alassachusetts

In the Year Two Thousand Nine

An Act relative to the geographical jurisdiction of the housing court...

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

1 Section 1 of chapter 185C of the General Laws, as appearing in the 2008 Official Edition, 2 is hereby amended by striking out the first sentence and inserting in the place thereof the 3 following sentence:-- The housing court department, established under section 1 of chapter 4 211B, shall be composed of a western division, consisting of the cities and towns of Berkshire, 5 Franklin, Hampden and Hampshire counties; a division for Worcester county, including the town 6 of Bellingham in Norfolk county, the city of Marlborough and the towns of Ashby, Hudson and 7 Townsend in Middlesex county, and the jurisdiction known as Devens established under chapter 8 498 of the acts of 1993; a northeastern division, including the cities and towns of Essex county 9 and the city of Lowell and the towns of Acton, Ayer, Billerica, Boxborough, Carlisle, 10 Chelmsford, Concord, Dracut, Dunstable, Groton, Lexington, Littleton, Maynard, Pepperell, 11 Shirley, Stow, Tewksbury, Tyngsborough, and Westford in Middlesex county; a southeastern 12 division, including the cities and towns of Bristol and Plymouth counties; and a division for the city of Boston. 13