## The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

In the Year Two Thousand Nine

An Act relative to the joint labor management committee..

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

- SECTION 1. Chapter 589 of the acts of 1987 is hereby amended in Section 4A. (1)(a)(i)
- 2 by striking out the section and inserting in place thereof the following section:
- 3 Section 4A. (1) (a) (i) There shall be in the executive office of labor, but not subject to
- 4 the jurisdiction thereof, a committee to be known as the joint labor-management committee, in
- 5 this section referred to as the committee. The committee shall be composed of sixteen members,
- 6 including a chairman and a vice-chairman and such alternate members as the committee shall
- 7 approve. Sixteen committee members shall be appointed by the governor as follows: four
- 8 firefighters from nominations submitted by the Professional Firefighters of Massachusetts,
- 9 International Association of Firefighters, AFL-CIO, four police officers from nominations
- submitted by the International Brotherhood of Police Officers, NAGE, SEIU, AFL-CIO, the
- 11 Massachusetts Police Association, and the Massachusetts Municipal Police Coalition, and eight
- 12 from nominations submitted by the Advisory Commission on Local Government established
- under section sixty-two of chapter three of the General Laws. Said sixteen members shall be
- 14 appointed for a term of three years; provided however that in making his initial appointments, the

governor shall appoint one member nominated by said professional firefighters organization for a term of one year, one such member for a term of two years, and two members for a term of three years; one member nominated by said professional police organization for a term of one year, one such member for a term of two years, and two such members for a term of three years; and two members nominated by said advisory commission for a term of one year; two such members for a term of two years, and four such members for a term of three years. Any member of the committee may be removed by the governor for neglect of duty, malfeasance in office, or upon request by the nominating body.