SENATE No. 2071

Senate, November 15, 2011– Text of the Senate amendment (<u>Tarr</u>, <u>Knapik</u>, <u>Hedlund</u> and <u>Ross</u>) to the the interim report of the joint special committee established (under <u>Senate Order No. 9</u> of 2011) to make an investigation and study of a new division of the Commonwealth into Congressional districts (<u>House</u>, <u>No. 3798</u>)

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

In the Year Two Thousand Eleven

1	SECTION 1. Chapter 57 of the General Laws is hereby amended by striking out section
2	1, as appearing in the 2010 Official Edition, and inserting in place thereof the following section:
3	Section 1. For the purpose of electing representatives in the Congress of the United States and
4	delegates and alternate delegates to the national conventions of political parties, until otherwise
5	provided by law, the commonwealth is divided into the following 9 districts, each of which shall
6	elect 1 representative:
7	First Congressional District - Consisting of the cities and towns in Berkshire county; the
8	towns of Ashfield, Buckland, Charlemont, Conway, Deerfield, Greenfield, Hawley, Heath,
9	Monroe, Rowe, Shelburne, and Whately all in the county of Franklin; the cities of Chicopee,
10	Holyoke, Springfield, Westfield and West Springfield, and the towns of Agawam, Blandford,
11	Chester, East Longmeadow, Granville, Longmeadow, Ludlow, Montgomery, Russell,
12	Southwick, Tolland, and Wilbraham, all in the county of Hampden; the city of Easthampton and
13	the towns of Amherst, Chesterfield, Cummington, Goshen, Granby, Hadley, Hatfield,
14	Huntington, Middlefield, Northampton, Plainfield, South Hadley, Southampton, Westhampton,

Williamsburg and Worthington, all in the county of Hampshire.

15

16 Second Congressional District - Consisting of the towns of Bernardston, Colrain, Erving, 17 Gill, Leverett, Leyden, Montague, New Salem, Northfield, Orange, Shutesbury, Sunderland, Warwick, and Wendell, all in the county of Franklin; the towns of Brimfield, Hampden, Holland, 18 19 Monson, Palmer, and Wales in the county of Hampden; the towns of Belchertown, Pelham and 20 Ware, all in the county of Hampshire; the towns of Ashby and Hopkinton in the county of 21 Middlesex; the cities of Gardner and Worcester and the towns of Ashburnham, Athol, Auburn, 22 Barre, Boylston, Brookfield, Charlton, Douglas, Dudley, East Brookfield, Grafton, Hardwick, 23 Holden, Hubbardston, Leicester, Millbury, Millville, New Braintree, North Brookfield, 24 Northborough, Northbridge, Oakham, Oxford, Paxton, Petersham, Phillipston, Princeton, Royalston, Rutland, Shrewsbury, Southbridge, Spencer, Sterling, Sturbridge, Sutton, Templeton, 25 26 Upton, Uxbridge, Warren, Webster, West Boylston, West Brookfield, Westborough, 27 Westminster and Winchendon, all in the county of Worcester. 28 Third Congressional District - Consisting of the cities and towns in Bristol county; the 29 towns of Foxborough and Plainville in Norfolk county; consisting of precincts A, C, D of ward 30 1, precincts B,C,D of ward 2, precincts A, C, D of ward 3 and precincts C and D of ward 4 of the 31 city of Brockton and the towns of Bridgewater, East Bridgewater, Halifax, Hanson, Lakeville, 32 Marion, Mattapoisett, Middleborough, Plympton, Rochester, and West Bridgewater, all in the 33 county of Plymouth. 34 Fourth Congressional District - the city of Newton and the town of Natick, both in the 35 county of Middlesex; and the towns Avon, Bellingham, Braintree, Brookline, Canton, Dedham, 36 Dover, Franklin, Holbrook, Medfield, Medway, Millis, Needham, Norfolk, Norwood, Sharon,

Stoughton, Walpole, Wellesley, Westwood and Wrentham, all in the county of Norfolk; precinct

37

- 38 B of ward 1, precinct A of ward 2, precinct B of ward 3, precincts A and B of ward 4, and wards
- 39 5, 6, and 7 of the city of Brockton and the towns of Abington and Whitman, both in the
- 40 county of Plymouth; precinct 2 of ward 19, precincts 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17,
- 41 18, 19, and 20 of ward 20 and precincts 4, 7, 11 and 13 of ward 22 of the city of Boston in the
- 42 county of Suffolk; and the towns of Blackstone, Hopedale, Mendon and Milford all in the county
- 43 of Worcester.
- 44 Fifth Congressional District Consisting of the cities Lawrence and Methuen and the
- 45 town of Andover in the county of Essex; the cities of Lowell and Marlborough and the towns of
- 46 Acton, Ayer, Billerica, Boxborough, Carlisle, Chelmsford, Concord, Dracut, Dunstable, Groton,
- 47 Hudson, Littleton, Pepperell, Shirley, Stow, Tewksbury, Townsend, Tyngsborough and Westford
- in the county of Middlesex; the cities of Fitchburg and Leominster, and the towns of Berlin,
- 49 Bolton, Clinton, Harvard, Lancaster and Lunenburg in the county of Worcester.
- 50 Sixth Congressional District Consisting of the cities of Beverly, Gloucester, Haverhill,
- 51 Lynn, Newburyport, Peabody, and Salem, and the towns of Amesbury, Boxford, Danvers, Essex,
- 52 Georgetown, Groveland, Hamilton, Ipswich, Lynnfield, Manchester-by-the-Sea, Marblehead,
- 53 Merrimac, Middleton, Nahant, Newbury, North Andover, Rockport, Rowley, Salisbury, Saugus,
- 54 Swampscott, Topsfield, Wenham, and West Newbury, all in the county of Essex; and the city of
- Melrose, precinct 2 of Ward 6 of the city of Woburn and precincts 1 and 6 of the town of
- Burlington and the towns of North Reading, Reading, Wakefield, and Wilmington all in the
- county of Middlesex; and town of Winthrop in the county of Suffolk.
- 58 Seventh Congressional District Consisting of the cities of Cambridge, Everett and
- Somerville, all in the county of Middlesex; and precincts 1, 5, and 10 in the town of Milton and
- 60 the town of Randolph, both in the county of Norfolk; and wards 1, 2 and 3, precinct 3 of ward 4,

- 61 precincts 3,4,5 and 11 of ward 5, wards 8 and 9, precincts 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 of ward 10,
- 62 wards 11 and 12, precincts 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 of ward 13, 14 and 15, precincts 1, 3, 4 and 6
- of ward 16, wards 17 and 18, precincts 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13 of ward 19, and
- precincts 3, 8, 9 and 10 of ward 20 of the city of Boston and the cities of Chelsea and Revere in
- 65 the county of Suffolk;
- 66 Eighth Congressional District Consisting of the cities of Malden, Medford, Waltham,
- and wards 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, precincts 1 of ward 6, and ward 7 of the city of Woburn and the towns
- of Arlington, Ashland, Bedford, Belmont, precincts 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 of Burlington, Framingham,
- 69 Holliston, Lexington, Lincoln, Maynard, Sherborn, Stoneham, Sudbury, Watertown, Wayland,
- Weston and Winchester all in the county of Middlesex; and precincts 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10
- of ward 4, precincts 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 of ward 5, precinct 1 of ward 10, ward 21 and
- precincts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10 and 12 of ward 22 of the city of Boston, in the county of Suffolk;
- and the town of Southborough in the county of Worcester.
- 74 Ninth Congressional District Consisting of the cities and towns in the counties of
- 75 Barnstable, Dukes County, and Nantucket; and the city of Quincy and the towns of Cohasset,
- precincts 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8 and 9 of Milton and Weymouth, all in the county of Norfolk, and the
- towns of Carver, Duxbury, Hanover, Hingham, Hull, Kingston, Marshfield, Norwell, Pembroke,
- 78 Plymouth, Rockland, Scituate and Wareham, all in the county of Plymouth; and wards 6 and 7,
- 79 precincts 3 and 10 of ward 13, and precincts 2, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 of ward 16 of the city of
- 80 Boston, in the county of Suffolk.; and
- By striking the term "Section 10" and inserting in place thereof the following:- "Section
- 82 2".