## FILED ON: 12/21/2012

## **SENATE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . No. 2480**

Senate, December 24, 2012 -- Text of the Senate amendment (Senator Rosenberg) to the Senate Bill creating a domestic violence task force in the town of Greenfield (Senate, No. 2430)

## The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

In the Year Two Thousand Twelve

An Act amending the charter of the city known as the town of Greenfield to establish a mayor's task force against domestic violence.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

| 1  | Article 6 of the charter of the city known as the town of Greenfield, which is on file in the         |
|----|---|
| 2  | office of the archivist of the commonwealth as provided in section 12 of chapter 43B of the           |
| 3  | General Laws, is hereby amended by adding the following section:-                                     |
| 4  | SECTION 6-24: MAYOR'S TASK FORCE AGAINST DOMESTIC VIOLENCE  |
| 5  | (a) There shall be a mayor's task force against domestic violence to advise the mayor                 |
| 6  | with regard to the formation of public policy on domestic violence. The task force shall consist      |
| 7  | of 7 members, 3 of whom shall be appointed by the mayor with review by the town council as            |
| 8  | provided in section 2-10, and 4 of whom shall be appointed as provided in subsection (c).             |
| 9  | (b) In making the mayoral appointments, the mayor shall seek persons who are: (i)                     |
| 10 | experienced in the field of youth services; (ii) members of women's and men's advocacy groups;        |
| 11 | (iii) mental health providers; (iii) probation officers in the district or superior court system; and |

(iv) medical professionals on the staff at the Franklin Medical Center. The 3 members to beappointed by the mayor shall serve for terms of 3 years.

(c) The remaining 4 members of the committee shall include: (i) a police officer
designated by the chief of police; (ii) a representative of the Franklin county district attorney's
office designated by the Franklin county district attorney; (iii) the mayor or the mayor's
designee; and (iv) a town councilor designated by the town council president. The 4 remaining
members shall serve for terms of 2 years.

(d) At least 4 members of the task force shall reside in the town of Greenfield. The
committee shall meet at least twice annually and shall provide its members with notice of the
meetings at least 15 days in advance of such meetings.

(e) The committee shall select a chair by majority vote of the members at a meeting dulycalled for that purpose.

(f) The terms of all of the members shall be so arranged so that at least 2 of the members'terms shall expire each year.