HOUSE No. 3937

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

PRESENTED BY:

James M. Cantwell

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in General Court assembled:

The undersigned legislators and/or citizens respectfully petition for the adoption of the accompanying bill:

An Act allowing for the appointment of designees to the Inspector General Council.

PETITION OF:

NAME:DISTRICT/ADDRESS:DATE ADDED:James M. Cantwell4th Plymouth1/24/2014

By Mr. Cantwell of Marshfield, a petition (subject to Joint Rule 12) of James M. Cantwell for legislation to authorize the appointment of certain designees to the Inspector General Council. State Administration and Regulatory Oversight.

The Commonwealth of Alassachusetts

In the Year Two Thousand Fourteen

An Act allowing for the appointment of designees to the Inspector General Council.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

1112

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 3 of chapter 12A, as appearing in the 2012 Official Edition, is hereby amended by striking out the first sentence and inserting in place thereof the following:

There shall be an inspector general council, which shall consist of the attorney general or her designee, the state auditor or her designee, the secretary of public safety or her designee, the state comptroller or his designee, an attorney admitted to practice law within the commonwealth appointed by the attorney general from a list of three such attorneys submitted by the speaker of the house, a person with experience in business or accounting or on the faculty of a college of business or of accounting within the commonwealth appointed by the state auditor from a list of three such persons submitted by the president of the senate, a member of the public appointed by the governor from a list of three names submitted by the minority leader of the house of representatives, and a member of the public appointed by the governor from a list of three names submitted by the minority leader of the senate.