Amendment #10 to H.4184

Study Commission

Representatives Harrington of Groton, Jones of North Reading, Peterson of Grafton, Hill of Ipswich, Poirier of North Attleborough and deMacedo of Plymouth move that the bill be amended by adding at the end thereof the following new section:—

“SECTION X. There is hereby established a commission to study and determine the usefulness and the practicality of creating a developmental evaluation process in all cases of juvenile first degree murder. Such evaluation process would be used to determine the developmental progress and abilities of the juvenile offender at the time of sentencing and at the time of parole eligibility and would be utilized by the parole board for any future parole decision relative to the juvenile offender. In making recommendations, the commission shall establish factors to be analyzed in determining the developmental progress of the juvenile offender. The commission shall consist of the secretary of public safety and security or a designee, who shall serve as chair; the executive director of the Massachusetts office of victim assistance or designee; the commissioner of the department of mental health; the chief justice of the trial court or designee; the chief justice of the juvenile court or designee; the chief counsel of the committee for public counsel services or designee; the president of the Massachusetts District Attorneys Association or designee; one member of the senate, appointed by the senate president; one member of the senate, appointed by the senate minority leader; one member of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the house; one member of the house of representatives, appointed by the house minority leader; and at least two individuals specializing in the child psychology and mental developments, to be appointed by the governor. The commission shall submit its report and findings, along with any draft of legislation, to the house and senate committees on ways and means, the joint committee on the judiciary, and the clerks of the house of representatives and the senate on or before December 31, 2014.”.
Additional Cosponsors
Bradley H. Jones, Jr.
Bradford Hill
Elizabeth A. Poirier
George N. Peterson, Jr.
Viriato Manuel deMacedo