Amendment #2 to H.4217

Funding for 15 Days

Representatives Jones of North Reading, Peterson of Grafton, Hill of Ipswich, Poirier of North Attleborough and deMacedo of Plymouth move that the bill be amended by striking out sections 1 through 4, inclusive, and inserting in place thereof the following:-

"SECTION 1. Notwithstanding any general or special law to the contrary, the amount of $2,300,000,000 is hereby appropriated for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2015, to meet necessary expenditures before the enactment of the general appropriation act for that fiscal year, for the maintenance and operations of the various departments, boards, commissions, and institutions, including federal grant and Intragovernmental Service Fund expenditures, for other necessary services, and for meeting certain requirements of law. This appropriation shall cease to be operative as of the effective date of the general appropriation act, and all actions taken under this section shall apply against that general appropriation act. All expenditures made under this section shall be consistent with appropriations made in the general appropriation act.

SECTION 2. The state treasurer shall make advance payments for some or all of periodic local reimbursement or assistance programs to any city, town, regional school district, or independent agricultural and technical school that demonstrates an emergency cash shortfall, as certified by the commissioner of revenue and approved by the secretary of administration and finance, pursuant to guidelines issued by the secretary.

SECTION 3. Notwithstanding any general or special law to the contrary, the unexpended balances of all capital accounts which otherwise would revert on June 30, 2014, but which are necessary to fund obligations during fiscal year 2015, are hereby re-authorized; but this re-authorization shall terminate upon enactment of a capital account extension law.

SECTION 4. This act shall take effect on July 1, 2014.".
Additional Cosponsors
George N. Peterson, Jr.
Bradford Hill
Elizabeth A. Poirier
Viriato Manuel deMacedo