HOUSE DOCKET, NO. 630        FILED ON: 1/12/2019

HOUSE  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  No. 2073


The Commonwealth of Massachusetts



James K. Hawkins


To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in General
Court assembled:

The undersigned legislators and/or citizens respectfully petition for the adoption of the accompanying bill:

An Act to ensure pay parity for county sheriffs' correction officers and jail officers.






James K. Hawkins

2nd Bristol

James Arciero

2nd Middlesex

Brian M. Ashe

2nd Hampden

Bruce J. Ayers

1st Norfolk

F. Jay Barrows

1st Bristol

Jennifer E. Benson

37th Middlesex

Donald R. Berthiaume, Jr.

5th Worcester

David Biele

4th Suffolk

Nicholas A. Boldyga

3rd Hampden

Paul Brodeur

32nd Middlesex

Antonio F. D. Cabral

13th Bristol

Daniel Cahill

10th Essex

Peter Capano

11th Essex

Gerard J. Cassidy

9th Plymouth

Tackey Chan

2nd Norfolk

Edward F. Coppinger

10th Suffolk

William L. Crocker, Jr.

2nd Barnstable

Claire D. Cronin

11th Plymouth

Daniel R. Cullinane

12th Suffolk

Josh S. Cutler

6th Plymouth

Angelo L. D'Emilia

8th Plymouth

Michael S. Day

31st Middlesex

David F. DeCoste

5th Plymouth

Daniel M. Donahue

16th Worcester

Kimberly N. Ferguson

1st Worcester

Michael J. Finn

6th Hampden

Carole A. Fiola

6th Bristol

Paul K. Frost

7th Worcester

William C. Galvin

6th Norfolk

Colleen M. Garry

36th Middlesex

Tami L. Gouveia

14th Middlesex

Danielle W. Gregoire

4th Middlesex

Patricia A. Haddad

5th Bristol

Richard M. Haggerty

30th Middlesex

Christopher Hendricks

11th Bristol

Steven S. Howitt

4th Bristol

Daniel J. Hunt

13th Suffolk

Randy Hunt

5th Barnstable

Louis L. Kafka

8th Norfolk

Patrick Joseph Kearney

4th Plymouth

Kay Khan

11th Middlesex

Kathleen R. LaNatra

12th Plymouth

Jack Patrick Lewis

7th Middlesex

Marc T. Lombardo

22nd Middlesex

Adrian C. Madaro

1st Suffolk

John J. Mahoney

13th Worcester

Paul W. Mark

2nd Berkshire

Christopher M. Markey

9th Bristol

Joseph W. McGonagle, Jr.

28th Middlesex

Joseph D. McKenna

18th Worcester

Lenny Mirra

2nd Essex

Mathew J. Muratore

1st Plymouth

James M. Murphy

4th Norfolk

Brian W. Murray

10th Worcester

Harold P. Naughton, Jr.

12th Worcester

Tram T. Nguyen

18th Essex

Shaunna L. O'Connell

3rd Bristol

James J. O'Day

14th Worcester

Norman J. Orrall

12th Bristol

Jerald A. Parisella

6th Essex

Elizabeth A. Poirier

14th Bristol

Denise Provost

27th Middlesex

Angelo J. Puppolo, Jr.

12th Hampden

David M. Rogers

24th Middlesex

Paul A. Schmid, III

8th Bristol

Alan Silvia

7th Bristol

Thomas M. Stanley

9th Middlesex

Alyson M. Sullivan

7th Plymouth

José F. Tosado

9th Hampden

Paul F. Tucker

7th Essex

Steven Ultrino

33rd Middlesex

John C. Velis

4th Hampden

David T. Vieira

3rd Barnstable

RoseLee Vincent

16th Suffolk

Thomas P. Walsh

12th Essex

Timothy R. Whelan

1st Barnstable

Donald H. Wong

9th Essex

Michael D. Brady

Second Plymouth and Bristol

Diana DiZoglio

First Essex

Nick Collins

First Suffolk

Ryan C. Fattman

Worcester and Norfolk

Paul R. Feeney

Bristol and Norfolk

Anne M. Gobi

Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex

John F. Keenan

Norfolk and Plymouth

Mark C. Montigny

Second Bristol and Plymouth

Patrick M. O'Connor

Plymouth and Norfolk

Rebecca L. Rausch

Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex

Michael J. Rodrigues

First Bristol and Plymouth

Bruce E. Tarr

First Essex and Middlesex

Walter F. Timilty

Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth

Dean A. Tran

Worcester and Middlesex

HOUSE DOCKET, NO. 630        FILED ON: 1/12/2019

HOUSE  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  No. 2073

By Mr. Hawkins of Attleboro, a petition (accompanied by bill, House, No. 2073) of James K. Hawkins and others relative to benefits for county sheriffs' correction officers and jail officers.  Public Safety and Homeland Security.


The Commonwealth of Massachusetts



In the One Hundred and Ninety-First General Court



An Act to ensure pay parity for county sheriffs' correction officers and jail officers.


Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:



SECTION 17. Chapter 37 of the General Laws is hereby amended by inserting after existing text in Section 17 the following:

Notwithstanding any general or special law to the contrary, The Correction Officers and Jail Officers working in the fourteen (14) County Sheriffs' Offices throughout the Commonwealth of Massachusetts shall re‐titled Correction Officer I, II and III or Jail Officer I, II, and III, and be paid base salaries according to the corresponding salary Grade in State Bargaining Unit 4 covering the Department of Correction job titles of Correction Officer I, II, or III. County Sheriffs’ Office, Correction Officers and Jail Officers shall be slotted into such Unit 4 titles according to where the core duties and responsibilities of such Correction Officers and Jail Officers within the County Sheriffs’ Offices most closely approximate the core duties and responsibilities of the corresponding Department of Correction CO I, II, and III titles. The foregoing compensation adjustment shall be structured so that the salary rates for Sheriffs' Office Correction Officer I, II, III and Jail Officer I, II, III equalize with the general Department of Corrections base salary rates in through equal annual increments over the three fiscal years after next following the passage of this legislation by the General Court and its enactment by the Governor. Upon the enactment of this legislation, County Sheriffs will not be required to bargain under G. L. Chapter 150E with public employee organizations representing County Sheriffs Correction Officers I, II and III or Jail Officers I, II and III over base salary rates for such Officers covering the three fiscal year period in which such Officers are receiving salary rates pursuant to this legislation, but shall otherwise remain obligated to comply with collective bargaining agreements, if any, covering such Officers and, in all other respects, except as otherwise provided herein, shall remain obligated to comply with their obligations under Chapter 150E with respect to such Officers and the public employee labor organizations representing such Officers during such three fiscal year period. Following the three fiscal year period covered by this legislation, Chapter 150E shall once again fully apply to County Sheriffs as it relates to Correction Officers I, II, and III and Jail Officers I, II and III in all respects, including but not limited to the negotiation of base salary rates with public employee organizations representing them.