

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

PRESENTED BY:

Carmine Lawrence Gentile

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in General Court assembled:

The undersigned legislators and/or citizens respectfully petition for the adoption of the accompanying resolve:

Resolve establishing a commission to meet energy neutral building standards.

PETITION OF:

NAME:	DISTRICT/ADDRESS:	DATE ADDED:
Carmine Lawrence Gentile	13th Middlesex	1/17/2019
Maria Duaime Robinson	6th Middlesex	2/1/2019
Kay Khan	11th Middlesex	3/20/2019
Tommy Vitolo	15th Norfolk	3/20/2019
Brian M. Ashe	2nd Hampden	3/20/2019
Denise Provost	27th Middlesex	3/20/2019
Brian W. Murray	10th Worcester	3/21/2019

By Mr. Gentile of Sudbury, a petition (accompanied by resolve, House, No. 3666) of Carmine Lawrence Gentile and others for an investigation by a special commission (including members of the General Court) relative to the implementation of energy neutral building designs and standards. Telecommunications, Utilities and Energy.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

In the One Hundred and Ninety-First General Court (2019-2020)

Resolve establishing a commission to meet energy neutral building standards.

1	Resolved, that, notwithstanding any general or special laws to the contrary, there shall be
2	established a commission called the energy neutral building standards commission, hereinafter
3	referred to as the commission, for the purpose of identifying best practices for the
4	implementation of energy neutral building designs and standards. For the purposes of this act an
5	energy neutral design is a design of any type that has the environment and low energy
6	consumption practices in mind during all stages of planning and production and a zero-energy
7	building is a building with zero net energy consumption such that the total amount of energy
8	used by the building on an annual basis is roughly equal to the amount of renewable energy
9	created on the site.
10	The commission shall consist of 13 members: 3 members of the senate, 2 of whom shall
11	be selected by the senate president and 1 of whom shall be selected by the minority leader; 3
12	members of the house of representatives, 2 of whom shall be selected by the speaker of the house
13	of representatives and 1 of whom shall be selected by the minority leader; the secretary of

14 housing and economic development or a designee; the secretary of energy and environmental 15 affairs or a designee; the president of the Massachusetts AFL-CIO or a designee; the president of the Home Builders and Remodelers Association of Massachusetts, Inc., or a designee; the 16 17 president of the Massachusetts Municipal Association, Inc., or a designee, the executive director 18 of the Conservation Law Foundation, Inc., or a designee; and the executive director of the 19 Environmental League of Massachusetts, Inc., or a designee. One senator selected by the senate 20 president shall serve as a co-chair. One member of the house of representatives chosen by the 21 speaker of the house shall serve as a co-chair.

22 The commission shall: (i) recommend revision of the Massachusetts building code for 23 residential buildings and class A office space constructed on or after January 1, 2022 such that 24 said structures will be required to be energy neutral by their design; provided however, that, 25 while the ultimate goal would be to create zero energy buildings, the regulatory changes 26 recommended by the commission shall be calculated not to increase the cost of new construction 27 more than 10 per cent over and above the cost of building a structure utilizing the 28 Massachusetts building code extant for the year 2018; (ii) develop a program to inform and 29 prepare architects, construction companies, municipal building inspectors, and the public of the 30 new requirements; and (iii) submit a report with recommended building code changes and 31 statutory changes to the: governor; secretary of housing and economic development; secretary of 32 energy and environmental affairs; speaker of the house; and senate president on or before 33 January 1, 2021.