## HOUSE . . . . . . . . No. 4257

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

INTERIM REPORT OF THE JOINT SPECIAL COMMITTEE ESTABLISHED TO MAKE AN INVESTIGATION AND STUDY OF A NEW DIVISION OF THE COMMONWEALTH INTO CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS, FORTY SENATORIAL DISTRICTS EIGHT COUNCILLOR DISTRICTS AND ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTY REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICTS. (Under House order No. 66 of 2021)

November 16, 2021.



## **The Commonwealth of Alassachusetts** SPECIAL JOINT COMMITTEE ON REDISTRICTING STATE HOUSE, BOSTON 02133

Senator William N. Brownsberger Senate Chair Second Suffolk and Middlesex Representative Michael J. Moran House Chair Eighteenth Suffolk

November 15, 2021

Fellow Legislators,

As House Chair of the joint special committee established by the joint order, House of Representatives order No. 66 adopted on February 18, 2021 and concurred with by the Senate on February 18, 2021, to study the division of this Commonwealth into one hundred and sixty representative districts, forty senatorial districts, eight councillor districts, and nine congressional districts based on the results of the 2020 federal decennial census, I hereby file this interim report, voted upon in the affirmative during by an electronic poll of the full committee on November 15, 2021, containing our proposals and legislation necessary for the proper redistricting of Councillor districts as required by Articles CI and CIX of the Articles of Amendments to the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Sincerely,

REP. MICHAEL J. MORAN of Boston

House Chair Special Joint Committee on Redistricting

REP. MARCOS A. DEVERS of Lawrence

House Vice Chair Special Joint Committee on Redistricting

REP. SARAH K. PEAKE of Provincetown

REP. JOSEPH F. WAGNER of Chicopee

REP. JAMES J. O'DAY of West Boylston

REP. FRANK A. MORAN of Lawrence

REP. THOMAS A. GOLDEN, JR. of Lowell

REP. WILLIAM M. STRAUS of Mattapoisett

REP. JOHN J. MAHONEY of Worcester

REP. JOSH S. CUTLER of Duxbury

REP. CAROLE FIOLA of Fall River

REP. DANIEL HUNT of Dorchester

REP. BUD L. WILLIAMS of Springfield

REP. TRICIA FARLEY-BOUVIER of Pittsfield

REP. CHYNAH TYLER of Boston

REP. ANDRES X. VARGAS of Haverhill

REP. KIP DIGGS of Barnstable

REP. PAUL K. FROST of Auburn

REP. KIMBERLY N. FERGUSON of Holden

REP. NICHOLAS A. BOLDYGA of Southwick

REP. SEAN DOOLEY of Norfolk

FILED ON: 11/15/2021

## 

## The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

In the One Hundred and Ninety-Second General Court (2021-2022)

An Act establishing councillor districts.

*Whereas,* The deferred operation of this act would tend to defeat its purpose, which is to establish forthwith councillor districts, therefore it is hereby declared to be an emergency law, necessary for the immediate preservation of the public convenience.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

1 SECTION 1. Chapter 57 of the General Laws is hereby amended by striking out section 2, as

- 2 appearing in the 2020 Official Edition, and inserting in place thereof the following section:-
- 3 Section 2. For the purpose of choosing councillors until the next apportionment, the
- 4 commonwealth shall be divided, conformably with the constitution, into the following 8
- 5 councillor districts:
- 6 First Consisting of the following senatorial districts: Cape and Islands; First Bristol and

7 Plymouth; Second Bristol and Plymouth; Third Bristol and Plymouth; and Plymouth and

8 Barnstable.

9	Second - Consisting of the following senatorial districts: Bristol and Norfolk; Middlesex
10	and Norfolk; Norfolk, Plymouth and Bristol; Norfolk, Worcester and Middlesex; and Second
11	Plymouth and Norfolk.
12	Third - Consisting of the following senatorial districts: Third Middlesex; Fourth
13	Middlesex; Middlesex and Worcester; Norfolk and Middlesex; and Suffolk and Middlesex.
14	Fourth - Consisting of the following senatorial districts: Norfolk and Plymouth; Norfolk
15	and Suffolk; First Plymouth and Norfolk; First Suffolk; and Second Suffolk.
16	Fifth - Consisting of the following senatorial districts: First Essex; Second Essex; First
17	Essex and Middlesex; Second Essex and Middlesex; and First Middlesex.
18	Sixth - Consisting of the following senatorial districts: Third Essex; Second Middlesex;
19	Fifth Middlesex; Middlesex and Suffolk; and Third Suffolk.
20	Seventh - Consisting of the following senatorial districts: First Worcester; Second
21	Worcester; Worcester and Hampden; Worcester and Hampshire; and Worcester and Middlesex.
22	Eighth - Consisting of the following senatorial districts: Berkshire, Hampden, Franklin
23	and Hampshire; Hampden; Hampden, Hampshire and Worcester; Hampden and Hampshire; and
24	Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester.
25	SECTION 2. The supreme judicial court shall have jurisdiction of any civil action
26	relative to the establishment of councillor districts under section 1. The complaint in any such
27	action shall be filed in that court within 10 days after the effective date of this act.