

CHARLES D. BAKER Governor

KARYN E. POLITO Lieutenant Governor The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services Department of Public Health Bureau of Environmental Health Community Sanitation Program 5 Randolph Street, Canton, MA 02021 Phone: 781-828-7700 Fax: 781-828-7703

MARYLOU SUDDERS Secretary

MARGRET R. COOKE Acting Commissioner

Tel: 617-624-6000 www.mass.gov/dph

January 5, 2022

Robert Ogden, Sheriff Dukes County Jail and House of Correction P.O. Box 252 Edgartown, MA 02539 (electronic copy)

Re: Plan of Correction - Dukes County Jail and House of Correction, Edgartown

Dear Sheriff Ogden:

The Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Community Sanitation Program (CSP) has received your Plan of Correction in response to my inspection on December 16, 2021. After review, the CSP finds the plan appropriately addresses all of the violations noted in the report with the following exceptions:

- 1. Please provide a date of correction for the following unaddressed violations:
  - a. Plumbing out-of-order in cell # 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 in the Pre-Release Unit;
  - b. The mini split air conditioning unit leaking into the hallway in Unit # 1; and
  - c. The rear exterior door not rodent and weathertight in the Male Locker Room.
- 2. In regards to the issue of overcrowding, the CSP appreciates the limitations of correctional facilities and the need to accommodate the ever-increasing population; however we remain concerned with the overcrowded conditions.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter, should you have any questions please contact me at the address listed above.

Sincerely,

Richarlas Mal

Nicholas Gale Environmental Analyst, CSP, BEH

Margret R. Cooke, Acting Commissioner, DPH	
Nalina Narain, Director, BEH	
Steven Hughes, Director, CSP, BEH	
Marylou Sudders, Secretary, Executive Office of Health and Human Services	(electronic copy)
Carol A. Mici, Commissioner, DOC	(electronic copy)
Terrence Reidy, Secretary, EOPSS	(electronic copy)
Timothy Gotovich, Director, Policy Development and Compliance Unit	(electronic copy)
James Neville, Superintendent	(electronic copy)
Greg Arpin, EHSO	(electronic copy)
Matthew Poole, Health Agent, Edgartown Health Department	(electronic copy)
Clerk, Massachusetts House of Representatives	(electronic copy)
Clerk, Massachusetts Senate	(electronic copy)
	Nalina Narain, Director, BEH Steven Hughes, Director, CSP, BEH Marylou Sudders, Secretary, Executive Office of Health and Human Services Carol A. Mici, Commissioner, DOC Terrence Reidy, Secretary, EOPSS Timothy Gotovich, Director, Policy Development and Compliance Unit James Neville, Superintendent Greg Arpin, EHSO Matthew Poole, Health Agent, Edgartown Health Department Clerk, Massachusetts House of Representatives