Skip to Content

Download PDF

SENATE DOCKET, NO. 924        FILED ON: 1/17/2013

SENATE  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  No. 1298


The Commonwealth of Massachusetts



James E. Timilty


To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in General
              Court assembled:

              The undersigned legislators and/or citizens respectfully petition for the adoption of the accompanying bill:

An Act relative to the sanctity of collective bargaining .






James E. Timilty

Bristol and Norfolk

Michael O. Moore

Second Worcester

Mark J. Cusack

5th Norfolk

Paul J. Donato

35th Middlesex

Anne M. Gobi

5th Worcester

Edward F. Coppinger

10th Suffolk

Steven S. Howitt

4th Bristol

John F. Keenan

Norfolk and Plymouth

Bradley H. Jones, Jr.

20th Middlesex

Carlo Basile

1st Suffolk

Jennifer L. Flanagan

Worcester and Middlesex

Tackey Chan

2nd Norfolk

Michael J. Finn

6th Hampden

Richard T. Moore

Worcester and Norfolk

Kimberly N. Ferguson

1st Worcester

Cheryl A. Coakley-Rivera

10th Hampden

James J. Dwyer

30th Middlesex

James T. Welch


Paul McMurtry

11th Norfolk

F. Jay Barrows

1st Bristol

Sal N. DiDomenico

Middlesex and Suffolk

Michael R. Knapik

Second Hampden and Hampshire

Eileen M. Donoghue

First Middlesex

Kenneth J. Donnelly

Fourth Middlesex

Michael F. Rush

Norfolk and Suffolk

Aaron Michlewitz

3rd Suffolk

Christine E. Canavan

10th Plymouth

Angelo J. Puppolo, Jr.

12th Hampden

Gale D. Candaras

First Hampden and Hampshire

Louis L. Kafka

8th Norfolk

Jason M. Lewis

Fifth Middlesex

Bruce J. Ayers

1st Norfolk

Matthew A. Beaton

11th Worcester

Robert M. Koczera

11th Bristol

Rhonda Nyman

5th Plymouth

Thomas J. Calter

12th Plymouth

Angelo L. D'Emilia

8th Plymouth

Bradford Hill

4th Essex

William C. Galvin

6th Norfolk

Harold P. Naughton, Jr.

12th Worcester

John J. Binienda

17th Worcester

Lori A. Ehrlich

8th Essex

William Smitty Pignatelli

4th Berkshire

Marc R. Pacheco

First Plymouth and Bristol

Geoff Diehl

7th Plymouth

Donald Humason


James M. Murphy

4th Norfolk

Kay Khan

11th Middlesex

John J. Lawn, Jr.

10th Middlesex

Katherine M. Clark

Fifth Middlesex

Paul W. Mark

2nd Berkshire

Thomas M. McGee

Third Essex

Paul R. Heroux

2nd Bristol

Patricia A. Haddad

5th Bristol

Antonio F. D. Cabral

13th Bristol

Joseph F. Wagner

8th Hampden

Martin J. Walsh

13th Suffolk

Sean Curran

9th Hampden

Timothy J. Toomey, Jr.

26th Middlesex

Diana DiZoglio

14th Essex

John H. Rogers

12th Norfolk

Richard J. Ross

Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex

David Paul Linsky

5th Middlesex

Frank I. Smizik

15th Norfolk

Claire D. Cronin

11th Plymouth

George N. Peterson, Jr.

9th Worcester

Barry R. Finegold

Second Essex and Middlesex

Steven M. Walsh

11th Essex

Anthony W. Petruccelli

First Suffolk and Middlesex

Robert L. Hedlund

Plymouth and Norfolk

Thomas P. Kennedy

Second Plymouth and Bristol

John V. Fernandes

10th Worcester

Thomas A. Golden, Jr.

16th Middlesex

James Arciero

2nd Middlesex

Randy Hunt

5th Barnstable

SENATE DOCKET, NO. 924        FILED ON: 1/17/2013

SENATE  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  No. 1298

By Mr. Timilty, a petition (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 1298) of James E. Timilty, Michael O. Moore, Mark J. Cusack, Paul J. Donato and other members of the General Court for legislation relative to the sanctity of collective bargaining.  Public Service. 


SEE SENATE, NO. 1390 OF 2011-2012.]


The Commonwealth of Massachusetts



In the Year Two Thousand Thirteen



An Act relative to the sanctity of collective bargaining .


              Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

              SECTION 1.  Section 7(d) of chapter 150E of the General Laws, as appearing in the 2010 Official Edition, is hereby amended by inserting after subsection (q), the following new subsection:-

              “(r ) sections one through thirty-one, inclusive, of chapter twenty-two C; provided, however, that any provision of the collective bargaining agreement entered into pursuant to chapter 150E by the Commonwealth and the employee organization representing the bargaining unit of the non-commissioned officers of the department of state police which conflicts with any provision of chapter twenty-two C can be suspended in the event of and only for the duration of an emergency which requires such suspension. For purposes of the sub-section, an emergency is defined as a condition in which the safety of the public is in imminent danger, such as a threat to life or health or where immediate law enforcement intervention is required to maintain or restore such public safety.”

The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The General Court provides this information as a public service and while we endeavor to keep the data accurate and current to the best of our ability, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.