Amendment #283 to H3600

Massachusetts State Correctional Facilities

Representatives Haddad of Somerset and Naughton of Clinton move to amend the bill by inserting after Section 80 the following section:


"SECTION XX. Chapter 127 is hereby amended by adding the following section at the end thereof:

'Section 170.

(a) As used in this section, the following words shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

“Institution:” Massachusetts State Correctional Facilities.

“Member communities:” communities under the jurisdiction of Massachusetts Department of Corrections.

(b) Notwithstanding any general or special law to the Massachusetts Department of Corrections located in the towns hosting a state institution shall continue operation until such time that the following are completed:

i) A study on the public safety impacts of closing institution on the member communities;

ii) A cost analysis of the closing, to include the financial impacts on the member communities;

iii) A thorough appraisal of the building, land and structures on the property, including the yearly maintenance costs associated with each;

iv) A public hearing in the town hosting a state institution; and

v) A public hearing at the Massachusetts State House.

(c) A report of the study and analysis shall be submitted to the Senate President, the Speaker of the House, and the Senators and Representatives of member communities no later than two years after the passage of this legislation.

(d) No state correctional facilities shall be closed without prior notification to the legislature.'”


Amendment #283 to H3600

Massachusetts State Correctional Facilities


Keiko M. Orrall

Denise Provost

Linda Dean Campbell

James J. O'Day

Bud Williams

Colleen M. Garry

Jennifer E. Benson

Shawn Dooley

James M. Cantwell

Bruce J. Ayers

Angelo L. D'Emilia

Steven Ultrino

Sean Garballey

Brian M. Ashe

James J. Dwyer

Diana DiZoglio

Tackey Chan

Paul A. Schmid, III

RoseLee Vincent

Aaron Vega

Kay Khan

Nick Collins

Antonio F. D. Cabral

Cory Atkins

Thomas A. Golden, Jr.

Daniel Cahill

Timothy R. Whelan

Joseph W. McGonagle, Jr.