Amendment #819 to H3600

Safe and Supportive Schools

Representatives Balser of Newton, Cabral of New Bedford, Jones of North Reading, Poirier of North Attleborough, Ayers of Quincy, Barber of Somerville, Benson of Lunenburg, Cahill of Lynn, Cantwell of Marshfield, Cariddi of North Adams, Cassidy of Brockton, Chan of Quincy, Collins of Boston, Crighton of Lynn, Cronin of Easton, Day of Stoneham, Decker of Cambridge, DiZoglio of Methuen, Donahue of Worcester, DuBois of Brockton, Dwyer of Woburn, Dykema of Holliston, Ehrlich of Marblehead, Farley-Bouvier of Pittsfield, Ferguson of Holden, Fiola of Fall River, Garlick of Needham, Gordon of Bedford, Hecht of Watertown, Heroux of Attleboro, Kaufman of Lexington, Keefe of Worcester, Khan of Newton, Linsky of Natick, Livingstone of Boston, McMurtry of Dedham, Miceli of Wilmington, Muratore of Plymouth, Nangle of Lowell, Pignatelli of Lenox, Provost of Somerville, Rogers of Cambridge, Roy of Franklin, Schmid of Westport, Smizik of Brookline, Ultrino of Malden, Vega of Holyoke, Vieira of Falmouth, Walsh of Framingham, Kafka of Stoughton, Lewis of Framingham, Lawn of Watertown, Tosado of Springfield, Garballey of Arlington, Meschino of Hull and Kelcourse of Amesbury move to amend the bill in section 2 by striking out item 7061-9612 and inserting in place thereof the following item:


“7061-9612 For the implementation of subsection (f) of section 1P of chapter 69 of the General Laws to create safe and supportive school environments; provided, that funds shall be expended for the safe and supportive schools grant program and for a full-time staff member devoted to carrying out the responsibilities as provided in said subsection (f) of said section 1P of said chapter 69; provided further, that funds shall be expended for statewide and regional conferences, expert technological assistance in upgrading the usability of the online self-assessment tool and an evaluation of the grant program; provided further, that grants shall be awarded to school and district teams that create schoolwide action plans based on all the elements of the safe and supportive schools framework and self-assessment tool; provided further, that recipient schools shall incorporate said school-wide action plans into the annual school improvement plan required by section 1(i) of chapter 69 of the General Laws; provided further, that districts shall create district plans that support recipient schools; provided further, that grant awards shall be allocated by the department to schools and districts by November 1, 2017; provided further, that recipients shall have up to two years to expend the grant funds; and provided further, that any unexpended funds in this item shall not revert but shall be made available for the purposes of this item until June 30, 2019.................................... $400,000”.


Amendment #819 to H3600

Safe and Supportive Schools


Brian M. Ashe

Byron Rushing

Peter V. Kocot

Russell E. Holmes

Bradford R. Hill

Elizabeth A. Malia

Jerald A. Parisella

Frank A. Moran

Joseph W. McGonagle, Jr.

Thomas M. Stanley

Todd M. Smola

Juana B. Matias

RoseLee Vincent

Alice Hanlon Peisch

William C. Galvin

Linda Dean Campbell

Daniel Cullinane

Edward F. Coppinger

Stephan Hay

Jonathan D. Zlotnik

Daniel J. Ryan

Natalie Higgins