Amendment #858 to H3600

Learn to Earn

Representatives Wagner of Chicopee, Garlick of Needham, Brodeur of Melrose, Cabral of New Bedford, McMurtry of Dedham, Orrall of Lakeville, Cariddi of North Adams, Gordon of Bedford, Schmid of Westport, Cassidy of Brockton, Fiola of Fall River, Walsh of Framingham, McKenna of Webster, Campbell of Methuen, DuBois of Brockton, McGonagle of Everett and Hecht of Watertown move to amend the bill in section 2 by inserting after item 7002-0012 the following item:

“7002-1080 for the Learn to Earn initiative to be designed and administered jointly by an interagency workgroup including the executive office of labor and workforce development, executive office of education, executive office of housing and economic development, executive office of health and human services, Massachusetts department of transportation and executive office of public safety and security; provided, that not less than $3,000,000 shall be transferred to the Workforce Competitiveness Trust Fund established in section 2WWW of chapter 29 of the General Laws for the purposes of supporting a competitive grant program designed to create talent pipelines for businesses and provide career pathways toward high demand occupations as defined by the executive office of housing and economic development and executive office of labor and workforce development via cohort-based case management and support services for underemployed or unemployed individuals; provided further, that competitive grants shall only be awarded to partnerships of organizations that work with the target population; and provided further, that funding may also be made available to address barriers to obtaining and sustaining employment for job seekers who are underemployed or unemployed and participating in said grant program….$4,000,000”

Amendment #858 to H3600

Learn to Earn


Bradford R. Hill

Jennifer E. Benson

James J. O'Day

John J. Mahoney

Steven Ultrino

Frank A. Moran

Marjorie C. Decker

Paul R. Heroux

Thomas A. Golden, Jr.

Nick Collins

Thomas M. Stanley

Jeffrey Sánchez

Bud Williams

Juana B. Matias

Peter V. Kocot

James R. Miceli