Amendment #587 to H4000

Community College Campus Hunger Program

Ms. Meschino of Hull moves to amend the bill by adding the following section:

“Section XXXX. Chapter 15A of the General Laws is hereby amended by inserting after section 44 the following section:-

Section 45. Community College Campus Hunger Program

There shall be established and set up on the books of the commonwealth a fund to address food insecurity on community college campuses that shall be known as the Massachusetts Community College Campus Hunger Program. The fund shall be credited with: (i) revenue from appropriations or other monies authorized by the general court and specifically designated to the fund; (ii) interest earned on such revenues; and (iii) funds from public and private sources including, but not limited to, gifts, grants and donations to further the program.

The department of higher education shall distribute resources from the fund by issuing a request for proposal through which community colleges may apply. The department shall grant funds based on the demonstrated need and implementation plan of each applicant. Funds received by college campuses shall be used to address food insecurity among students via means including, but not limited to, meal cards, meal plans, meal vouchers, and other campus-designed projects to address community college student food insecurity”.

Additional co-sponsor(s) added to Amendment #587 to H4000

Community College Campus Hunger Program


Lindsay N. Sabadosa

Sean Garballey

Steven C. Owens

Vanna Howard

Tram T. Nguyen

Susannah M. Whipps

Hannah Kane

Liz Miranda

Carmine Lawrence Gentile

Patricia A. Duffy

Michael J. Soter

Jack Patrick Lewis

Natalie M. Higgins

Tami L. Gouveia

Tricia Farley-Bouvier

Danillo A. Sena

Paul A. Schmid, III

Denise C. Garlick

Josh S. Cutler

Michael P. Kushmerek

Kenneth I. Gordon

David Henry Argosky LeBoeuf

Christine P. Barber

James J. O'Day

Orlando Ramos

Kevin G. Honan

James M. Kelcourse

Elizabeth A. Malia

Mike Connolly

Alan Silvia

Christina A. Minicucci

Michelle M. DuBois

Kay Khan

Nika C. Elugardo