Larceny Bill S.2176 An Actrelative to larceny

Summary

Raises the threshold of felony larceny and other
property charges from $250 to $1,500, putting
Massachusetts in line with other states.

Massachusetts. In 1906, the cutoff was set at $100,

@ A $1,500 threshold is not a historically high level for
which equates to roughly $2,400 in today’s dollars.

The current larceny threshold has not been updated
since 1987.

The bill was the result of collaboration

between multiple Senators STATUS

Senator William N. Brownsberger

Chair, Joint Committee on the Judiciary
@WBrownsberger

Senator James B. Eldridge
@JamieEldridgeMA

Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz
@SoniaChangDiaz

Senator Patricia D. Jehlen
@SenJehlen

Sent to House

This legislation was passed on
March 10, 2016

»
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RESPONSE

@hﬁ “If you have a felony on your criminal record, it
makes a big difference for applying for jobs: You

%U B‘wn probably won't be hired. That conviction is going
to create barriers for all kinds of opportunities”

@lﬂb B Pauline Quirion, director of the criminal records sealing

project at Greater Boston Legal Services

“If you stole a cell phone, that would be a felony
under the current $250 threshold. Now at m

$1,500, it's something you would think is more
appropriate.” %omn
Lew Finfer, a member of the Jobs Not Jails Coalition @lﬂh e

INFOGRAPHICS

CRIMINAL JUSTICE

REFORM

MA Senate passes Larceny bill raising the
threshold from $250 to $1500

@Ma_Senate . 4 #CIReformMA
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