Order Establishing a Special Joint Committee on Redistricting


In the Year Two Thousand Eleven


          Ordered, that, a special joint committee be established for the purpose of studying a new division of the Commonwealth into (a) Congressional districts under the United States Constitution, (b) 40 senatorial and 8 councillor districts under Section 2 of Article CI of the Amendments to the Constitution, as amended, and (c) 160 representative districts under section 1 of said Article CI. The committee shall consist of 7 senators to be appointed by the president, one of whom shall be a member of the minority party, and 21 representatives to be appointed by the speaker, of whom 4 shall be members of the minority party.


                The committee may expend for legal, clerical and other necessary expenses such sums as may be appropriated therefor, shall be provided with quarters in the State House, and shall receive from the state secretary and municipal election officials such data and information in their possession as may be of assistance to the committee.


                The committee may report from time to time the results of its study, and its recommendations, by filing them with the clerks of the Senate and House of Representatives.