UNCORRECTED PROOF.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

JOURNAL OF THE SENATE.



WEDNESDAY, MARCH 22, 2023

[25]

UNCORRECTED PROOF.

JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

Wednesday, March 22, 2023.

Met at twenty-two minutes past eleven o'clock A.M. (Mr. Brownsberger in the Chair).

The Chair (Mr. Brownsberger), members, guests and staff then recited the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

Pledge of allegiance.

Communication.

Communication from Senator Joanne M. Comerford announcing the formation of the Massachusetts Food System Caucus (received March 22, 2023),-- was placed on file.

Reports.

The following reports were severally received and placed on file, to wit:

Report of the Massachusetts State Lottery Commission (pursuant to Section 38 of Chapter 10 of the General Laws) submitting its 2022 annual report on charitable gaming (received March 20, 2023);

Report of the Department of Public Health (pursuant to Sections 5, 20 and 21 of Chapter 111 of the General Laws and in accordance with 105 CMR 451.408) relative to a complaint-based inspection of Suffolk County House of Correction (received March 21, 2023); and

Report of the Greater Attleboro-Taunton Regional Transit Authority (pursuant to Section 8(g) of Chapter 161B of the General Laws) submitting its financial statements and supplementary information for the year ended June 30, 2022 (received March 21, 2023).

Petitions.

Petitions were severally presented and referred as follows:

By Ms. Creem, a petition (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 1284) of Cynthia Stone Creem and Tommy Vitolo (by vote of the town) for legislation to authorize the establishment of a betterment loan program for the funding of electrification initiatives in the town of Brookline [Local approval received];

By the same Senator, a petition (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 1285) of Cynthia Stone Creem and Tommy Vitolo (by vote of the town) for legislation to authorize the town of Brookline to amend its community choice aggregation plan [Local approval received]; and

By Ms. Edwards, a petition (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 2374) of Lydia Edwards (with approval of the mayor and city council) for legislation relative to the promulgation of zoning rules and regulations in the city of Boston [Local approval received];

Severally, under Senate Rule 20, to the committee on Municipalities and Regional Government.

Sent to the House for concurrence.

By Ms. Comerford, a petition (accompanied by bill) (subject to Joint Rule 12) of

MA Food System

Caucus.

MSLC,-- charitable gaming report. SD2515

DPH,-- facility inspection. SD2516

GATRA,-- auditors' report. SD2517

Brookline,-electrification initiatives.

Brookline,-aggregation plan.

Boston,-environmental justice.

Rural schools,-sustainable future.

UNCORRECTED PROOF.

Joanne M. Comerford and Natalie M. Blais for legislation to provide a sustainable future for rural schools; and

By Ms. Moran (by request), a petition (accompanied by bill) (subject to Joint Rule 12) of Arthur Desloges for legislation to update the citizens advisory panel and strengthening citizen participation on the panel for the decommissioning of the Pilgrim Nuclear Power Plant;

Severally, under Senate Rule 20, to the committees on Rules of the two branches, acting concurrently.

Report of a Committee.

Mr. Rush, for the Special Committee of the Senate on the arrangement of seats, reported that the seating of the Senate be in the following order:

Honorable Karen E. Spilka, President of the Senate. On the President's Left. On the President's Right.

1. Hon. Cynthia Stone Creem 1. Hon. Marc R. Pacheco 2. Hon. William N. Brownsberger 2. Hon. Michael D. Brady 3. Hon. John C. Velis 3. Hon. Michael J. Rodrigues 4. Hon. Cindy F. Friedman 4. Hon. Patrick M. O'Connor 5. Hon. Joanne M. Comerford 5. Hon. Bruce E. Tarr 6. Hon. Ryan C. Fattman 6. Hon. Jason M. Lewis 7. Hon. John J. Cronin 7. Hon. Joan B. Lovely 8. Hon. Jacob R. Oliveira 8. Hon. Michael J. Barrett 9. Hon. Sal N. DiDomenico 9. Hon. Walter F. Timilty 10. Hon. Michael F. Rush 10. Hon. Barry R. Finegold 11. Hon. Pavel Pavano 11. Hon. Julian Cyr 12. Hon. Brendan P. Crighton 12. Hon. Susan L. Moran 13. Hon. Mark C. Montigny 13. Hon. Anne M. Gobi 14. Hon. James B. Eldridge 14. Hon. Rebecca L. Rausch 15. Hon. Lydia Edwards 15. Hon. Paul W. Mark 16. Hon. Nick Collins 16. Hon. John F. Keenan 17. Hon. Robyn K. Kennedy 17. Hon. Liz Miranda 18. Hon. Michael O. Moore 18. Hon. Adam Gomez 19. Hon. Patricia D. Jehlen 19. Hon. Paul R. Feeney 20. Hon. Edward J. Kennedy 20. Vacant

Recess.

There being no objection, at twenty-four minutes past eleven o'clock A.M., the Chair (Mr. Brownsberger) declared a recess subject to the call of the Chair; and at seventeen minutes before two o'clock P.M., the Senate reassembled, Mr. Brownsberger in the Chair.

Order Adopted.

On motion of Mr. Tarr,--

Ordered, That when the Senate adjourns today, it adjourn to meet again tomorrow at one o'clock P.M. in a full formal session without a calendar.

On motion of the same Senator, at sixteen minutes before two o'clock P.M., the Senate adjourned to meet again tomorrow at one o'clock P.M.

Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station.

Arrangement of seats.

Recess.

Time of meeting.