

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security One Ashburton Place, Room 2133 Boston, Massachusetts 02108 Tel: (617) 727-7775 TTY Tel: (617) 727-6618 Fax: (617) 727-4764 www.mass.gov/eopss

TERRENCE M. REIDY Secretary

CHARLES D. BAKER Governor

KARYN E. POLITO Lt. Governor

January 20, 2022

The Honorable Steven T. James, House Clerk 24 Beacon St - Room 145 State House Boston, MA 02133

The Honorable Michael D. Hurley, Senate Clerk 24 Beacon St - Room 335 State House Boston, MA 02133

Re: 2022 School Resource Officer MOU Guidelines

Dear Clerk James and Clerk Welch,

We write pursuant to the School Resource Officer Memorandum of Understanding ("SRO-MOU") Review Commission created by Section 79 of Chapter 253 of the Acts of 2020. In March of 2021, the SRO-MOU Commission convened its first meeting with the goal of updating the language contained in the SRO-MOU adopted in 2018. We are pleased to submit to you the 2022 School Resource Officer Memorandum of Understanding model agreement which will be publicly available and distributed to school districts throughout the Commonwealth.

Subcommittees were formed to focus on public input and drafting of the MOU. The Public Input subcommittee developed a public input survey that was distributed by Commission members to a variety of stakeholders across the Commonwealth. Approximately 3,400 individuals responded to the survey. In addition, three public input forums were held to gather information and feedback on the MOU draft.

We would like to recognize all of the Commission members who invested a great deal of time and effort accomplishing this important task. In addition to the Chairs, the members of the Commission are:

Paul Andrews, Director of Professional Development and Government Services Massachusetts Association of School Superintendent's Designee

Dyana Boutwell, Parent or Guardian of Child in Massachusetts Public School House Minority Leader's Designee

Chief Michael Bradley, Upton Police Department President of Massachusetts Police Chiefs Designee

Dr. Jim Cobbs, Brockton Public Schools Principal Massachusetts Public School Teacher's Designee

Glenn Daly, Director of Office of Children, Youth and Families Secretary of Health and Human Services Designee

Jon Evans, Superintendent, South Middlesex Regional Vocational Technical School Massachusetts Association of School Superintendent's Designee

Robert Ferullo, Executive Director of the Municipal Police Training Committee

B. Ellen Holmes, School Committee Member, Ashburnham/Westminster Regional School Committee Massachusetts Association of School Committees' Designee

Phillip Kassel, Executive Director, Mental Health Legal Advisors Committee

Tammy Mello, Executive Director, Children's League of Massachusetts

Barbara Meyer, Director of Guidance, Milton Public Schools Massachusetts School Counselor Association's Designee

Mechilia Salazar, President/CEO, Ludlow Community Center/Randall Boys & Girls Club Representative from Massachusetts Youth Organizations, Governor's Designee

Leon Smith, Executive Director, Citizens for Juvenile Justice

Chief Matt Sonnabend, Barnstable Police Department President of Massachusetts Major City Chiefs Designee

Abigail Taylor, Director, Child & Youth Protection Unit Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General Attorney General Designee Melissa Threadgill, Director of Juvenile Justice Initiatives Office of the Child Advocate Designee

Henry Thomas, President and CEO of the Urban League Representative from Massachusetts Youth Organizations

Sean Tobin, Administrative Attorney Chief Justice of the Juvenile Court Designee

Amanda Weber, School Social Worker, Danvers Public Schools Senate Minority Leader Designee

Please contact either Co-Chair, with questions and/or to request additional information.

Sincerely,

Angela F. F. Davis, Co- Chair Assistant Undersecretary for Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Executive Office of Public Safety and Security 617.620.8544 <u>Angela.f.davis@state.ma.us</u>

Anne Gilligan, Co-Chair Safe and Healthy Schools Coordinator Department of Elementary and Secondary Education 781.740.0749 <u>Anne.L.Gilligan@mass.gov</u>