

MAURA T. HEALEY Governor

KIMBERLEY DRISCOLL Lieutenant Governor The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Executive Office of Health and Human Services Department of Public Health Bureau of Environmental Health Community Sanitation Program 5 Randolph Street Canton, MA 02021 Phone: 617-356-5387

KATHLEEN E. WALSH Secretary

MARGRET R. COOKE Commissioner

> Tel: 617-624-6000 www.mass.gov/dph

March 10, 2023

Paul Heroux, Sheriff Bristol County Sheriff's Office Dartmouth Women's Center 400 Faunce Corner Road North Dartmouth, MA 02747 (electronic copy)

Re: Plan of Correction - Dartmouth Women's Center, North Dartmouth

Dear Sheriff Heroux:

The Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Community Sanitation Program (CSP) has received your Plan of Correction in response to my inspection on January 24, 2023. After review, the CSP finds the plan appropriately addresses all of the violations noted in the report with the following exception:

1. In regards to the issue of overcrowding, the CSP appreciates the limitations of correctional facilities and the need to accommodate the ever-increasing population; however we remain concerned with the overcrowded conditions.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter, should you have any questions please contact me at the address listed above.

Sincerely,

atuch Wallace

Patrick Wallace Environmental Health Inspector, CSP, BEH

Margret R. Cooke, Commissioner, DPH	
Nalina Narain, Director, BEH	
Steven Hughes, Director, CSP, BEH	
Kathleen E. Walsh, Secretary, Executive Office of Health and Human Services	(electronic copy)
Carol A. Mici, Commissioner, DOC	(electronic copy)
Terrence Reidy, Secretary, EOPSS	(electronic copy)
Timothy Gotovich, Director, Policy Development and Compliance Unit	(electronic copy)
Steven Souza, Superintendent	(electronic copy)
Andrew Mitzan, Lieutenant, EHSO	(electronic copy)
Christopher Michaud, RS, Health Director, Dartmouth Board of Health	(electronic copy)
Clerk, Massachusetts House of Representatives	(electronic copy)
Clerk, Massachusetts Senate	(electronic copy)
	Nalina Narain, Director, BEH Steven Hughes, Director, CSP, BEH Kathleen E. Walsh, Secretary, Executive Office of Health and Human Services Carol A. Mici, Commissioner, DOC Terrence Reidy, Secretary, EOPSS Timothy Gotovich, Director, Policy Development and Compliance Unit Steven Souza, Superintendent Andrew Mitzan, Lieutenant, EHSO Christopher Michaud, RS, Health Director, Dartmouth Board of Health Clerk, Massachusetts House of Representatives