The Legislature’s committee system is an important part of the lawmaking process.  There are three types of committees: Senate, House and Joint.  All committees are bi-partisan.  Joint Committees are made up of members from both branches.
Each committee has a specific jurisdiction, usually defined by topics such as health care, economic development or transportation.  These committees, most of which are joint committees, review legislation within their jurisdiction.  Joint committees have both a Senate and House Chair.
Each branch has a separate Committee on Ways and Means, as well as other committees that focus on ethics, administrative matters, procedural issues and rules that govern the chambers.
Pause Slide
House Chamber