Skip to Content
The 190th General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Senate Leadership

Stanley C. Rosenberg

Office of the President Amherst (D)

The President of the Senate is elected by the members of the body to lead the Senate and set the agenda and priorities for the session. Once elected, the President of the Senate sets the session calendar of legislation to be considered, presides over sessions, interprets rules, answers Parliamentary questions and inquiries, and preserves order and decorum of the Chamber.
Senator Stanley C. Rosenberg currently serves as President of the Massachusetts Senate. He was elected by his colleagues to that position in January, 2015. First elected to the Massachusetts House of Representatives in 1987, he was elected to the Senate in 1991 and most recently served as Senate Majority Leader. Senator Rosenberg represents the Hampshire, Franklin & Worcester District, which consists of 24 cities and towns in the Pioneer Valley and North Quabbin regions of Massachusetts.