Skip to Content
The 191st General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts



Karen E. Spilka

President of the Senate Ashland (D)

The President of the Senate is elected by the members of the body to lead the Senate and set the agenda and priorities for the session. Once elected, the President of the Senate sets the session calendar of legislation to be considered, presides over sessions, interprets rules, answers Parliamentary questions and inquiries, and preserves order and decorum of the Chamber.


House of Representatives

Robert A. DeLeo

Speaker of the House Winthrop (D)

The House of Representatives is led by the Speaker of the House, who is elected by House members at the beginning of the first year of each two-year session of the General Court.  The Speaker appoints a leadership team comprised of the Speaker pro Tempore, the Majority Floor Leader, Assistant Majority Floor Leader, and Second Assistant Majority Floor Leader.  The Speaker’s appointments are subject to ratification of a majority party caucus vote. The Speaker similarly appoints House committee chairpersons.
Representative Robert A. DeLeo currently serves as Speaker of the Massachusetts House of Representatives. He was elected to the position in January, 2009. Elected to the Massachusetts House of Representatives in 1991, he previously served as Chairman of the House Committee on Ways and Means. He represents the Nineteenth Suffolk District, including the town of Winthrop and a portion of the city of Revere.