Skip to Content
The 190th General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Section 3: Drug rehabilitation advisory board

[ Text of section effective until March 14, 2016. Repealed by 2016, 52, Sec. 35.]

  Section 3. There shall be in the division a drug rehabilitation advisory board, consisting of the commissioners of public health, correction, rehabilitation and education, the commissioner of youth services, the commissioner of probation and seven experts in the field of drug dependency appointed by the governor, at least one of whom shall be a rehabilitated drug dependent person. Of the members first appointed, two shall be appointed for a term of one year, two shall be appointed for a term of two years, and three shall be appointed for a term of three years. Thereafter the governor shall appoint members to succeed those appointed members whose terms expire to serve for terms of three years. Each appointed member shall serve until his successor is appointed and has qualified. No member shall be appointed to serve more than two consecutive three year terms. The members of the advisory board shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for their expenses actually and necessarily incurred in the discharge of their duties. The governor shall annually designate the chairman of the advisory board from among its members.

  The advisory board shall in its general advisory capacity assist the director in coordinating the efforts of all public agencies and private organizations and individuals within the commonwealth concerned with the prevention or treatment of drug dependency, providing for the most efficient and effective utilization of resources and facilities, and developing a comprehensive program for treatment of drug dependent persons and persons in need of immediate assistance due to the use of a dependency related drug. The advisory board shall make an annual report to the governor and a copy thereof shall be made available to the commissioner and to the secretary of health and human services.

  The commissioner of mental health shall be an ex officio member of the advisory board and in such capacity shall advise and make recommendations to the advisory board.