Skip to Content
The 192nd General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Bill H.4151 190th (2017 - 2018)

An Act protecting consumers by prohibiting blocking, throttling, or paid prioritization in the provision of Internet service

By Mr. Vargas of Haverhill, a petition (subject to Joint Rule 12) of Andres X. Vargas and others for legislation to assure net neutrality by Internet service providers and the equal treatment of data on the Internet, and to prohibit discrimination or charge disparity of user, content, website, platform, application, type of attached equipment or method of communication. Telecommunications, Utilities and Energy.

Bill Information

Andres X. Vargas

Emergency Preamble

Whereas, The deferred operation of this act would tend to defeat its purpose, which is to preserve forthwith and uphold the open foundation of the internet by adhering to certain principles, including: free flow of information over the internet; no blocking of lawful websites; no unreasonable discrimination of lawful network traffic; no paid prioritization; and clear commitment to transparency, therefore it is hereby declared to be an emergency law, necessary for the immediate preservation of the public convenience.


Name District/Address
Andres X. Vargas 3rd Essex
Jonathan Hecht 29th Middlesex
Brian M. Ashe 2nd Hampden
Cory Atkins 14th Middlesex
Ruth B. Balser 12th Middlesex
Christine P. Barber 34th Middlesex
John Barrett 1st Berkshire
Jennifer E. Benson 37th Middlesex
James M. Cantwell 4th Plymouth
Evandro C. Carvalho 5th Suffolk
Sonia Chang-Diaz Second Suffolk
Mike Connolly 26th Middlesex
Michael S. Day 31st Middlesex
Diana DiZoglio 14th Essex
William Driscoll 7th Norfolk
Tricia Farley-Bouvier 3rd Berkshire
Dylan Fernandes Barnstable, Dukes and Nantucket
Sean Garballey 23rd Middlesex
Denise C. Garlick 13th Norfolk
Colleen M. Garry 36th Middlesex
Carmine L. Gentile 13th Middlesex
Solomon Goldstein-Rose 3rd Hampshire
Patricia A. Haddad 5th Bristol
Natalie Higgins 4th Worcester
Russell E. Holmes 6th Suffolk
Patricia D. Jehlen Second Middlesex
Louis L. Kafka 8th Norfolk
Kay Khan 11th Middlesex
Peter V. Kocot 1st Hampshire
Robert M. Koczera 11th Bristol
Stephen Kulik 1st Franklin
Barbara A. L'Italien Second Essex and Middlesex
Jack Lewis 7th Middlesex
Jason M. Lewis Fifth Middlesex
David Paul Linsky 5th Middlesex
Adrian Madaro 1st Suffolk
Elizabeth A. Malia 11th Suffolk
Paul W. Mark 2nd Berkshire
Juana B. Matias 16th Essex
Paul McMurtry 11th Norfolk
James R. Miceli 19th Middlesex
Frank A. Moran 17th Essex
Mathew Muratore 1st Plymouth
Brian Murray 10th Worcester
Harold P. Naughton, Jr. 12th Worcester
Patrick M. O'Connor Plymouth and Norfolk
James J. O'Day 14th Worcester
Sarah K. Peake 4th Barnstable
Smitty Pignatelli 4th Berkshire
Denise Provost 27th Middlesex
David M. Rogers 24th Middlesex
Jeffrey N. Roy 10th Norfolk
Byron Rushing 9th Suffolk
Thomas M. Stanley 9th Middlesex
William M. Straus 10th Bristol
Steven Ultrino 33rd Middlesex
Aaron Vega 5th Hampden
RoseLee Vincent 16th Suffolk
Chris Walsh 6th Middlesex
Thomas P. Walsh 12th Essex

The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The General Court provides this information as a public service and while we endeavor to keep the data accurate and current to the best of our ability, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.