Skip to Content
December 06, 2023 Clear | 26°F
The 193rd General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Bill H.1571 191st (2019 - 2020)

An Act clarifying the definition of serious mental Illness on criminal justice reform

By Mr. Tucker of Salem, a petition (accompanied by bill, House, No. 1571) of Paul F. Tucker and others relative to the definition of serious mental illness in certain criminal justice laws. The Judiciary.

Bill Information

Paul F. Tucker

Emergency Preamble

Whereas, The deferred operation of this act would tend to defeat its purpose, which is to The deferred operation of this act would tend to defeat its purpose, which is to forthwith make certain changes in laws relative to and appropriate funds necessary for the administration of justice in the Commonwealth and, therefore it is hereby declared to be an emergency law, necessary for the immediate preservation of the public convenience.


Name District/Address
Paul F. Tucker 7th Essex
Timothy R. Whelan 1st Barnstable
Randy Hunt 5th Barnstable
Joseph W. McGonagle, Jr. 28th Middlesex
Thomas P. Walsh 12th Essex
Bruce E. Tarr First Essex and Middlesex
Paul McMurtry 11th Norfolk
Carmine Lawrence Gentile 13th Middlesex
Viriato M. deMacedo Plymouth and Barnstable
Sheila C. Harrington 1st Middlesex
Kenneth I. Gordon 21st Middlesex
Sal N. DiDomenico Middlesex and Suffolk
James M. Murphy 4th Norfolk
Rady Mom 18th Middlesex
John H. Rogers 12th Norfolk
Donald F. Humason, Jr. Second Hampden and Hampshire
Paul K. Frost 7th Worcester
Harold P. Naughton, Jr. 12th Worcester
David Allen Robertson 19th Middlesex
Todd M. Smola 1st Hampden
Angelo J. Puppolo, Jr. 12th Hampden
Michael F. Rush Norfolk and Suffolk
Anne M. Gobi Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex
John C. Velis 4th Hampden
Michael D. Brady Second Plymouth and Bristol
Patrick Joseph Kearney 4th Plymouth
James Arciero 2nd Middlesex
Carlos González 10th Hampden
José F. Tosado 9th Hampden
Daniel J. Ryan 2nd Suffolk
Brian M. Ashe 2nd Hampden
Gerard J. Cassidy 9th Plymouth
Josh S. Cutler 6th Plymouth
Joseph F. Wagner 8th Hampden
Bruce J. Ayers 1st Norfolk
David Biele 4th Suffolk
Linda Dean Campbell 15th Essex
Nick Collins First Suffolk

The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The General Court provides this information as a public service and while we endeavor to keep the data accurate and current to the best of our ability, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.