Skip to Content
The 192nd General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Bill S.2655 191st (2019 - 2020)

An Act concerning business interruption insurance

By Mr. Eldridge, a petition (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 2655) (subject to Joint Rule 12) of James B. Eldridge, Nika C. Elugardo, Jack Patrick Lewis, Patrick M. O'Connor and other members of the General Court for legislation to concern business interruption insurance. Financial Services.

Bill Information

James B. Eldridge

Emergency Preamble

Whereas, The deferred operation of this act would tend to defeat its purpose, which is to require certain insurance companies in the commonwealth to provide business interruption insurance coverage to their insured in connection with the COVID-19 pandemic, therefore it is hereby declared to be an emergency law, necessary for the immediate preservation of the public safety, health and convenience.


Name District/Address
James B. Eldridge Middlesex and Worcester
Nika C. Elugardo 15th Suffolk
Jack Patrick Lewis 7th Middlesex
Patrick M. O'Connor Plymouth and Norfolk
Marc R. Pacheco First Plymouth and Bristol
William L. Crocker, Jr. 2nd Barnstable
Christopher Hendricks 11th Bristol
Kay Khan 11th Middlesex
Lindsay N. Sabadosa 1st Hampshire
John H. Rogers 12th Norfolk
Paul A. Schmid, III 8th Bristol
Tami L. Gouveia 14th Middlesex
Edward F. Coppinger 10th Suffolk
Antonio F. D. Cabral 13th Bristol
Joseph A. Boncore First Suffolk and Middlesex
Tram T. Nguyen 18th Essex
Michael O. Moore Second Worcester
Denise Provost 27th Middlesex
David Henry Argosky LeBoeuf 17th Worcester
Harriette L. Chandler First Worcester
Linda Dean Campbell 15th Essex
Walter F. Timilty Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth
Adrian C. Madaro 1st Suffolk
Mike Connolly 26th Middlesex
Nick Collins First Suffolk
Sal N. DiDomenico Middlesex and Suffolk
Diana DiZoglio First Essex
Dylan A. Fernandes Barnstable, Dukes and Nantucket
Sean Garballey 23rd Middlesex
David Biele 4th Suffolk
Paul R. Feeney Bristol and Norfolk
Dean A. Tran Worcester and Middlesex
Mary S. Keefe 15th Worcester
Bradley H. Jones, Jr. 20th Middlesex
Jay D. Livingstone 8th Suffolk
Thomas M. Stanley 9th Middlesex
Anne M. Gobi Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex
Adam G. Hinds Berkshire, Hampshire, Franklin and Hampden
Michael D. Brady Second Plymouth and Bristol
Thomas P. Walsh 12th Essex
RoseLee Vincent 16th Suffolk
Susan Williams Gifford 2nd Plymouth
Frank A. Moran 17th Essex
David T. Vieira 3rd Barnstable
Kevin G. Honan 17th Suffolk
Joanne M. Comerford Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester
Mindy Domb 3rd Hampshire

The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The General Court provides this information as a public service and while we endeavor to keep the data accurate and current to the best of our ability, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.