Skip to Content
The 192nd General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Section 23: State lottery commission; members; appointment; terms; chairman; vacancies; expenses; quarters

Section 23. There shall be, in the office of the state treasurer, a state lottery commission, hereinafter called the commission, consisting of the state treasurer, the secretary of public safety or his designee, the state comptroller or his designee, and two persons to be appointed by the governor for terms coterminous with that of the governor. No more than four members of the commission shall be of the same political party.

The state treasurer shall be the chairman of the commission. Upon the expiration of the term of office of an appointive member, his successor shall be appointed in like manner, and shall serve until the qualification of his successor. Any vacancy in the case of appointive members of the commission, occurring for any reason other than the expiration of a term, shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointment. The members of the commission shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for their expenses actually and necessarily incurred in the discharge of their official duties. The commission shall be provided with quarters in the state house or elsewhere and may travel within and without the commonwealth.