Skip to Content
The 190th General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Section 14: Sittings of court; places

Section 14. A regular sitting or regular sittings of the court in the several counties shall be held in each year in each of the following places:—

For Barnstable, at Barnstable;

For Berkshire, at Pittsfield;

For Bristol, at Taunton, New Bedford and Fall River;

For Dukes county, at Edgartown;

For Essex, at Salem, Lawrence and Newburyport;

For Franklin, at Greenfield;

For Hampden, at Springfield;

For Hampshire, at Northampton;

For Middlesex, at Lowell and Cambridge;

For Nantucket, at Nantucket;

For Norfolk, at Dedham;

For Plymouth, at Plymouth and Brockton;

For Suffolk, at Boston;

For Worcester, at Worcester and Fitchburg.

Said court may adjourn any sitting or session from one place to another within the county, whether or not it be to a place mentioned in this section, in the manner and with the effect of adjournment to another shire town, and such adjournment shall be subject to all the laws relative to adjournment to another shire town. Said court may hold sittings for naturalization in any city or town.