Skip to Content
The 190th General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Representative Hannah Kane Republican - 11th Worcester

Hannah Kane (R – Shrewsbury) serves as the State Representative for the Eleventh Worcester District, representing the towns of Shrewsbury and Westborough, precincts 4 and 5 and was re-elected to serve for a second term in November, 2016.


Hannah graduated from Boston University’s School of Management in 1993. Hannah has significant experience in both the public and private sectors, beginning her career working at Unum Insurance Company before being recruited by Lt. Governor Paul Cellucci to work in the Weld/Cellucci Administration on the redevelopment of the former 4,400 acre Fort Devens Army Base and on the merger of 2 quasi-public state agencies into the economic development authority MassDevelopment. Hannah served as Director of Marketing and Product Development, helping generate over a billion dollars in economic development across the Commonwealth. Hannah returned to the private sector as Vice President of Marketing Services for a consulting firm, developing and implementing business growth and marketing strategies for her clients. Hannah co-owned and was managing partner of Beaton Kane Construction 2010-2015.


Hannah is deeply committed to public service.  Hannah serves as an elected Town Meeting Member for 15-years, an appointed member of the Shrewsbury Finance Committee and President of the Shrewsbury Public Schools Foundation. Hannah is also a member of the Shrewsbury Coalition for Addiction Prevention and Education and a Board member for Shrewsbury Youth and Family Services (SYFS), and hosts a charity golf tournament benefitting SYFS, St, Anne’s Human Services and Westborough Food Pantry. Hannah is a Trustee for the Seven Hills Foundation and serves on the Board and Executive Committee for Andover Newton Theological School in Newton, MA. Hannah is past President of the Shrewsbury Development Corporation and a former PTO President and School Council member.


Hannah serves as the Ranking Minority Member of the Joint Committee on Public Health, the Ranking Minority Member of the Joint Committee on Marijuana Policy, a Member of the Joint Committee on Mental Health, Substance Use and Recovery, and a Member of the Joint Committee on Transportation. Hannah is an advisory board member of the 495/MetroWest Partnership, a member of the Central MA Opioid Task Force and a State Director for the national Women in Government Foundation where she is a member of the Mental Health and Substance Use Task Force. Hannah is a Board Member of the Massachusetts Caucus of Women Legislators. Hannah serves as Minority Leader Bradley H. Jones designee on the Massachusetts Food Policy Council, the Special Commission charged with investigating ways to increase access and interoperability of data collected by the Department of Public Health to address healthcare inequality in Massachusetts, and on the Special Commission on Local and Regional Public Health. Hannah is the Vice-chair of the Shrewsbury Republican Town Committee.

Hannah was the recipient of the 2011 Shrewsbury Education Foundation Community Award for Service, the recipient of the 2018 Shrewsbury Youth and Family Services Harry S. Cutting, Jr. Award for outstanding commitment, contributions and support of the Shrewsbury community, and the first member of the Massachusetts’ Legislature honored as a Service Hero by Project 351, an organization that promotes year-long service by an 8th grade Ambassadors from each of the Commonwealth’s 351 cities and towns.


Hannah and her husband Jim have lived in Shrewsbury for twenty years and have 3 children, Madison, Caitlin and Patrick, in the Shrewsbury Public Schools.

Personal Information


Business Professional






Border Collie Molly

Education & Public Service

  • Boston University, School of Management
  • MA House of Representatives (2015 - Present)
  • Shrewsbury Finance Committee Member
  • Shrewsbury Public Schools Foundation
  • Seven Hills Foundation, Board of Trustees; Andover Newton Theological School, Board of Trustees