Skip to Content
The 192nd General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts


Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:

Section 36 of chapter 465 of the acts of 1956 is hereby amended by striking out subsection (a), as most recently amended by section 50 of chapter 10 of the acts of 2015, and inserting in place thereof the following subsection:-

(a)  There shall be an advisory board to the authority which shall be named the Massachusetts Port Authority Community Advisory Committee, which shall consist of: (i) 1 voting member from each of the following cities and towns, to be appointed by the chief executive officer of each city or town: Arlington, Bedford, Belmont, Beverly, Braintree, Brookline, Cambridge, Canton, Chelsea, Cohasset, Concord, Everett, Hingham, Hull, Lexington, Lincoln, Lynn, Malden, Marblehead, Medford, Melrose, Milton, Nahant, Quincy, Randolph, Revere, Salem, Scituate, Somerville, Swampscott, Watertown, Weymouth, Worcester and Winthrop; and (ii) 7 voting members from the city of Boston, to be appointed by the mayor, 1 of whom shall be from the East Boston section of the city of Boston, 1 of whom shall be from the South Boston section of the city of Boston, and 1 of whom shall be from the South End section of the City of Boston; provided, however, that appointed members shall be versed in not less than 1 of the following disciplines: airport operations; environmental affairs, labor relations; public health; or port operations.  For purposes of this section, the term “chief executive officer” shall mean the person designated as the chief executive officer under a local charter or laws having the force of a charter, or, in the absence of a local charter or laws having the force of a local charter, the mayor, in a city, or the chair of the select board or president of a town council, in a town.

Approved, January 10, 2019.