Skip to Content
December 05, 2023 Clouds | 36°F
The 193rd General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Bill HD.5128 191st (2019 - 2020)

An Act relative to saving Black lives and transforming public safety

By Representative Miranda of Boston and Senator Creem, a joint petition (subject to Joint Rule 12) of Liz Miranda, Cynthia Stone Creem and others for legislation to address public safety issues including the use and reporting of physical force including choke holds, so-called, by law enforcement officers and the use of warrants and electronic weapons. Public Safety and Homeland Security.

Bill Information

Liz Miranda , Cynthia Stone Creem
Referred to House Committee on Rules

Emergency Preamble

Whereas, The deferred operation of this act would tend to defeat its purpose, which is to provide forthwith for emergency relief to save Black lives, therefore it is hereby declared to be an emergency law, necessary for the immediate preservation of the public safety.


Name District/Address
Liz Miranda 5th Suffolk
Cynthia Stone Creem First Middlesex and Norfolk
Mike Connolly 26th Middlesex
Elizabeth A. Malia 11th Suffolk
Jack Patrick Lewis 7th Middlesex
Peter Capano 11th Essex
Maria Duaime Robinson 6th Middlesex
Ruth B. Balser 12th Middlesex
Tram T. Nguyen 18th Essex
Antonio F. D. Cabral 13th Bristol
Mindy Domb 3rd Hampshire
Sonia Chang-Diaz Second Suffolk
Kevin G. Honan 17th Suffolk
Lindsay N. Sabadosa 1st Hampshire
Nika C. Elugardo 15th Suffolk
Andres X. Vargas 3rd Essex
Tommy Vitolo 15th Norfolk
Christine P. Barber 34th Middlesex
Natalie M. Blais 1st Franklin
Carmine Lawrence Gentile 13th Middlesex
Kenneth I. Gordon 21st Middlesex
Jay D. Livingstone 8th Suffolk
Kay Khan 11th Middlesex
Natalie M. Higgins 4th Worcester
David Henry Argosky LeBoeuf 17th Worcester
David M. Rogers 24th Middlesex
Denise Provost 27th Middlesex
Frank A. Moran 17th Essex
Mary S. Keefe 15th Worcester
Harriette L. Chandler First Worcester
Michelle L. Ciccolo 15th Middlesex
Joanne M. Comerford Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester
Aaron Vega 5th Hampden
William C. Galvin 6th Norfolk
Jon Santiago 9th Suffolk
Gerard J. Cassidy 9th Plymouth
Rebecca L. Rausch Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex
Tami L. Gouveia 14th Middlesex
Michael J. Barrett Third Middlesex
Adrian C. Madaro 1st Suffolk
Christina A. Minicucci 14th Essex
Paul W. Mark 2nd Berkshire
Tricia Farley-Bouvier 3rd Berkshire
Carolyn C. Dykema 8th Middlesex
Linda Dean Campbell 15th Essex
Dylan A. Fernandes Barnstable, Dukes and Nantucket
Denise C. Garlick 13th Norfolk
Joan Meschino 3rd Plymouth
Marjorie C. Decker 25th Middlesex
Sean Garballey 23rd Middlesex
Danielle W. Gregoire 4th Middlesex
Carol A. Doherty 3rd Bristol
Lori A. Ehrlich 8th Essex
Kate Lipper-Garabedian 32nd Middlesex
José F. Tosado 9th Hampden
Marcos A. Devers 16th Essex
Bud L. Williams 11th Hampden
Patricia A. Haddad 5th Bristol
Jonathan Hecht 29th Middlesex
Carlos González 10th Hampden
Russell E. Holmes 6th Suffolk
John H. Rogers 12th Norfolk

The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The General Court provides this information as a public service and while we endeavor to keep the data accurate and current to the best of our ability, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.